Talecris Biotherapeutics

(today Grifols International SA)

CONSULTING (a Capricorn Consilium Project)

Wanted: Biotech consultant and country specialist for market entrance study in the field of plasma products.

The Client

Grifols is a global healthcare company which produces life-saving protein therapies. Its Bioscience division is dedicated to hemotherapy and the treatment of medical conditions using blood or blood components made from human plasma. In 2011, Grifols acquired and integrated Talecris.

www.grifols.com

The Assignment

Talecris was evaluating several expansion scenarios, for which market entrance studies were required. Capricorn Consilium was predestinated to conduct such task for a certain country and got assigned.

The Solution

Compilation of a classical market access  study: check of the total market as well as of its relevant segments, competitors, products, prices, sales, purchasing, consumers etc. Internet research and telephone calls were supplemented by face-to-face interviews with relevant hospital pharmacists, purchase managers and chief physicians. The result was an extended proposal of several market access strategies, as well as concrete suggestions to put the strategies into action, all of which were relevant to Talecris for their decision making.

Talecris Biotherapeutics

(heute Grifols International SA)

CONSULTING (ein Capricorn Consilium Projekt)

Gesucht: Biotech Berater und Länderspezialist für Markteintrittsstudie Plasmaprodukte.

Unser Kunde

Grifols ist ein global agierender Hersteller von Produkten hergestellt aus Humanplasma. Die diesbezüglichen Aktivitäten sind in dem Geschäftsbereich Bioscience gebündelt und umfassen im Wesentlichen die Therapie von Gerinnungsstörungen sowie den gezielten therapeutischen Einsatz von Plasmaderivaten. Im Jahre 2011 wurde Talecris akquiriert.

www.grifols.com

Die Aufgabe

Talecris evaluierte verschiedene Expansionsszenarien. Zu diesem Zwecke wurde eine Markteintrittsstudie für ein bestimmtes Land benötigt. Capricorn Consilium war für den Auftrag prädestiniert und erhielt den Zuschlag.

Unsere Lösung

Anfertigung einer klassischen Markteintrittsstudie: Betrachtung des Gesamtmarktes sowie des relevanten Teilsegmentes, der Mitbewerber, Produkte, Preise, Umsätze, Beschaffungswesen, Kunden etc. Internet und Telefonrecherche wurden ergänzt durch Interviews mit Apothekern, Einkäufern und Chefärzten vor Ort. Es wurden konkrete Markteintrittsszenarien mit Hinweisen zur Umsetzung erarbeitet und präsentiert, die Talecris bei der Entscheidung für weitere Expansionsschritte halfen.