Redbiotec AG

CONSULTING / INTERIM MANAGEMENT (a Capricorn Consilium Project)

Wanted: experienced Business Developer for a biotech company in the field of Virus-Like Particles (VLPs).

The Client

Redbiotec is a privately held Swiss Biopharmaceutical Company, based in Zurich-Schlieren. Founded in 2006 as a spin-off of the ETH Zurich, the company won several awards, including the renown W.A. De Vigier award.

Redbiotec uses its proprietary rePAX® co-expression technology for the efficient generation of multi-component virus-like particles (VLPs) and other protein assemblies. The company entered the field of VLP vaccines in 2008 and currently has a pipeline in the areas of CMV, HPV and Influenza. Besides developing its own prophylactic VLP vaccine pipeline, the company also offers customized solutions in Biologics to selected Partners.

The Assignment

The person in charge of business development took a scheduled time-out. To bridge the gap, Redbiotec was looking for a senior manager familiar with the industry who could take over with a short ramp-up.  The focus in vaccines was on driving the relationship with global players and checking the opportunities in China. In addition, contacts to companies active in the field of development of monoclonal antibodies were supposed to be intensified to identify new opportunities.

The Solution

Existing contacts to the relevant people in vaccines were helpful in reviving and intensifying the exchange, which led in at least on case to a contractual agreement. Potential Chinese partners were identified and evaluated. The number of business contacts to developers of monoclonal antibodies was increased significantly, which resulted in a bundle of new business opportunities. Internal staff took over as scheduled.

Redbiotec AG

CONSULTING / INTERIM MANAGEMENT (ein Capricorn Consilium Projekt)

Gesucht: erfahrener Business Developer für den Entwickler von Virus-Like Particles (VLPs)

Unser Kunde

Die Redbiotec AG in Schlieren, Schweiz, nutzt die von ihr entwickelte rePAX® Technologie für die Herstellung von Virus-Like Particles (VLPs) bestehend aus mehreren Komponenten sowie für andere Proteinkomplexe. Redbiotec ist seit 2008 im Impfstoffbereich tätig und hat seitdem Impfstoffe zur Prophylaxe von CMV, HPV und Influenza entwickelt. Zusätzlich zu dieser Palette von Impfstoffen werden auch kundenspezifische Projekte zur Herstellung von Proteinen für die Entwicklung von monoklonalen Antikörpern durchgeführt.

www.redbiotec.ch

Die Aufgabe

Die für die Geschäftsentwicklung zuständige Person hat absehbar pausiert. Zur Überbrückung wurde ein Interim Manager mit Branchenerfahrung gesucht, der die Geschäfte mit kurzem Vorlauf übernehmen kann. Außer dem Impfstoffbereich, in dem man vor allem mit den Global Players vorankommen und die Chancen in China evaluieren wollte, sollten auch Firmen angesprochen werden, die maßgeschneiderte Proteine zur Entwicklung von monoklonalen Antikörpern benötigen.

Unsere Lösung

Die bestehenden Kontakte zu den verantwortlichen Personen bei den Impfstofffirmen waren sehr hilfreich. Die Gespräche wurden wieder aufgenommen bzw. intensiviert und führten mindestens in einem konkreten Fall direkt zum gewünschten Erfolg. Die relevanten Impfstoffhersteller in China wurden evaluiert und kontaktiert. Die Anzahl der Geschäftskontakte zu Herstellern von monoklonalen Antikörpern wurde vervielfacht und es entstand ein Bündel an neuen Geschäftsmöglichkeiten. Die Aktivitäten wurden dann an interne Mitarbeitern übergeben.